Library Advisory Board

Board Overview

The purpose of the Library Advisory Board is to make recommendations on the operation and administration of the Durango Public Library, policies and procedures for consideration and adoption by the City Council, and the library’s capital budget.

This board also reviews and adopts long-term financial plans for operation and capital needs for the facility.

At a Glance

Established byResolution 2002-23 Ordinance, Section 5-111
Number on BoardFive; three city-appointed members, two county-appointed members
Length of TermThree years
Council LiaisonDean Brookie
Regular Meeting TimeMeetings are held every two months the second Monday at 4:30 pm
Regular Meeting LocationLibrary, Program Room 3

Current Members

NameAppointedTerm Expires
Rachel Turiel, Co-Chair, county-appointed01/28/201801/31/2021
Jean Walter, city-appointed02/07/201701/31/2021
Karen Pontius, county-appointed02/02/201701/31/2023
Dean Brookie, City Council Liaison2019NA
Shelly Oxhandler, Friends of the Library President2019NA
William LeMaire, Chair, city-appointed02/19/201901/31/2022
Salye Stein, city-appointed03/05/201801/31/2021
Sandy Irwin, Staff Library DirectorNANA
Clyde Church, County Commissioner LiaisonNANA