Explore Durango

Go To Search
Facebook
Twitter
Today's Weather

Garbage Collection
Residential & Commercial Services
The City of Durango provides residential and commercial garbage collection and recycling services within the city limits. The City strives to provide residential and commercial customers with high-quality and cost-effective service.


Garbage & Recycling Collection Schedule for 2014 Holidays
City Holiday Day of the Week Collection Date
New Year's Day   Wednesday, January 1 Thursday, January 2**
Martin Luther King Jr Day  Monday, January 20
Monday, January 20
Presidents' Day  Monday, February 17 Monday, February 17
Memorial Day Monday, May 26 Monday, May 26
Independence Day   Friday, July 4 Friday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 1 Monday, September 1
Veterans Day Tuesday, November 11 Tuesday, November 11
Thanksgiving Day  Thursday, November 27 Friday, November 28* **
Day after Thanksgiving  Friday, November 28 Friday, November 28
Christmas   Thursday, December 25 Friday, December 26* **

*Residential curbside recycling will be collected the day following the holiday. This schedule is subject to change. Please check the Holiday Press Release located on the main page for the most up-to-date information.

**Commercial trash customers will be collected the day before the holiday.

Trash containers must be in the alley or curbside (if no alley is available) for pickup by:
  • Commercial - 6:00 am
  • Residential - 8:00 am

Durango Transfer Station
The Durango Transfer Station is operated by WCA / Transit Waste. To contact the transfer station, please call (970) 259-2915. The transfer station is open from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Friday, and from 9:00 am to 1:00 pm on Saturday.

Resources